The Sámi Homeland’s eight seasons

Nordic nature lives in a state of continuous change: the increase and decrease of sunlight, the rise and fall of temperatures, summer and winter. There are a total of eight seasons here in the Sámi Homeland: in addition to spring, summer, autumn and winter, we have spring-summer (kevätkesä), autumn-summer (syyskesä), autumn-winter (syystalvi) and spring-winter (kevättalvi). This calendar is the basis for the rhythm of life for the Sámi. We have collected information and stories on the eight seasons. These stories will add to your exhibition visit and the information content of our learning assignments.

Early Summer
Late Summer
Early Winter
Late Winter